University Of Alberta in Canada

ℹ️ Location Canada.
ℹ️ Category: Public University.
ℹ️ Min Tuition Fee 14500
ℹ️ Max Tuition Fee 23300

If you want to study at the University of Alberta in Canada, you can now find out the general information, fields Of Study, application criteria, in addition to the expected tuition fees.

Basic Information

  • Category: government university
  • Preparatory year: There is no preparatory year in this university
  • Conditional Admission: This university does not usually give conditional admission
  • Language requirements: English TOFEL, English Iltes
  • Can you study in English? Yes, it offers presentations in English

Alberta University Fields Of Study

  • Hotel Management
  • Antiquities And Museums
  • English Literature
  • International Economy
  • Political Economy
  • Date
  • Education
  • Visual Design And Effects
  • Graphic Design
  • Education
  • Geography
  • Sports
  • Maths
  • Agriculture, Forestry And Environment
  • Tourism
  • Press And Media
  • Public Health
  • The Pharmacy
  • Human Medicine And Dentistry
  • Veterinary Medicine
  • Aviation
  • Organic
  • Social Sciences And Humanities
  • Applied Sciences
  • Digital Science
  • Architecture
  • Art, Music And Design
  • Physics
  • Law And Political Science
  • Chemistry
  • German Language
  • French Language
  • Latin Language
  • Linguistics And Cultural Studies
  • Accounting
  • Electronic Simulation
  • Music
  • Geometry
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Electrical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • History Of Art And Civilizations
  • Biology
  • Economics And Business Administration
  • Psychology And Psychiatry
  • Space Science
  • Communications Engineering
  • Petrol Engineering
  • Computer Engineering
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Software Engineering
University Of Alberta

The University of Alberta is one of the most prominent public education institutes in Canada and North America. It includes 18 academic colleges offering 200 bachelor’s degree programs and 170 postgraduate programs for master’s and doctoral degrees .More Universities in Canada

University Of Alberta Campuses

The university consists of four campuses in Edmonton, the Augustana campus in Camrose, and a staff center in downtown Calgary. The original North Campus consisted of 150 buildings covering 50 residential blocks on the southern edge of the North Saskatchewan River Valley, directly across from downtown Edmonton. 39,000 students from Canada and 150 other countries participate in 400 programs in 18 colleges.

The University of Alberta is a major economic driver in the city. The university’s impact on Alberta’s economy is estimated at $12.3 billion annually, or five percent of the province’s GDP. It is a government-supported academic research university in Edmonton founded by Alberta’s first Premier Alexander Cameron Rutherford and its first governor, Henry Marshall Tory, in 1908.

North Campus

The  North Campus  (main campus) is the largest campus which is the main campus of the university. This is where the university administration, lecture halls, research centers and various facilities such as libraries, sports facilities, fitness studios, restaurants and student housing are located. The campus is located on the southern banks of the North Saskatchewan River and includes 145 buildings on an area of ​​approximately 92 hectares.

Saint Jean Campus

The  Saint-Jean  Campus is a campus located 3 miles east of the North Campus in beautiful Bonny-Don, a French where outside of Quebec is spoken. Due to the increasing number of students, the campus is greatly expanded. New laboratories and lecture halls are being built. On-campus students usually study a bachelor’s degree, including students of technical and social degree programs, and engineers who study for the first year on site and then continue their studies on the main campus. There are also bilingual courses in nursing and economics.

Augustana campus

The  Augustana campus is located  in the small town of Camrose, about 100 kilometers southwest of Edmonton. In 2004, Augustana University College merged with the University of Alberta, which later became the Augustana Campus. There are mainly art courses such as arts, natural sciences, or music courses on campus.

Foundation Square 

The Enterprise Square campus opened   on January 15, 2008. This is located on the North Saskatchewan River in downtown Edmonton. University facilities are located in the historic buildings of the old Hudson’s Bay Company Building. The buildings have been completely renovated. The Extension College, Alberta Family Business Institute, and Alberta Business School and Design Gallery are located on campus.

south campus

The campus is located two kilometers south of the main campus and is directly connected to public transportation (light rail transportation).

Students And Alumni

More than 275,000 students have graduated from the university, including Governor General Roland Michener. Prime Minister Joe Clark; Chief Justice of Canada Beverly MacLachlin; Alberta Premiers Peter Lougheed, Dave Hancock, Jim Prentice, and Rachel Notley; Edmonton Mayor Don Iveson and Nobel Laureate Richard E. Taylor.

University Of Alberta Colleges

  • College of Medicine and Dentistry
  • Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine
  • faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Nursing
  • College of Public Health
  • College of Science
  • College of Engineering
  • collage of rights
  • Collage of Arts
  • Faculty of Education
  • College of Business Administration

Study Libraries

The university’s library system received a huge boost with the opening of the Rutherford Library, and it now has one of the largest research library systems in North America. As of 2012, according to the Association for Research Libraries, the library system is ranked 11th in North America and is the second largest by number of volumes preserved.

The structure of the public libraries at the university is as follows:

  1. Augustana College Library
  2. Saint Jean Library
  3. Research Resources and Collections Facility
  4. Cameron Library (Science and Technology)
  5. data library
  6. digital scholarship center
  7. Herbert T. Library. Coates (education and physical education)
  8. John W. Scott Library of Health Sciences
  9. Rutherford Library (Humanities and Social Sciences)
  10. Bruce Bell Private Collections Library
  11. Saint Joseph’s College Library
  12. Business reference library

Research at University Of Alberta

National Institute of Nanotechnology

More than 400 research laboratories are settled on the campus, making the university one of the leading research universities in the country. The university is a member of the G13 Universities, an association of the country’s 13 most powerful research universities, which participate in national and international research projects. Between 1988 and 2006, the university received $3.4 billion in third-party funding. The research centers are:

  • sustainable forest management
  • Network of Centers of Excellence
  • Al Barari Centers of Excellence
  • Canadian Obesity Network
  • Canadian Center for Ethnic and Folk Music (at Partnerschaft mit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings).

The main research areas are:

  • medical research
  • Population Research
  • biomedical research
  • Nanotechnology Research (home of the well-known National Institute of Nanotechnology (NINT), which opened in 2006)

Other research centers and institutes (extract):

  • Center for Improved Forest Management (EFM)
  • Dairy Research and Technology Center (DRTC)
  • Environmental Research and Studies Center
  • Alberta Center for Surface Engineering and Science
  • Oil Sands Innovation Center
  • Construction Research Institute of Canada (CIRC)
  • Alberta Aging Center
  • Alberta Institute of Human Nutrition

Click here to visit the official University of Alberta in Canada website